I am back and stronger than ever!

2013 was a bust in several ways: my grandmother died (God rest her soul), my almost 20 year old cat died, I had to move to another place, job losses. But, the fact that myself, my child and other family and friends made it to 2014 alive, made it a great year. I have been so extremely busy for the last 30 plus days with travel, guests, events, parties and now is a time to get it together. Decide my path. Make my way. 

For starters, I have a new bestie. I know it sound silly. I am a grown woman with a child and that is the first thing I mention is that I have a best friend. Well, it is odd because I have known her for 2 years. But over the last month, I have gotten to know her more and I realize that this is what has been missing up here in DC! A running/hanging partner. I have a lot of friends/acquaintances here, but I feel in this land of suburbia and perfection,that I rarely if ever am just myself. I am with my daughter and friends from back in the day whom I chat with over the phone that love other places. But I have not met a friend in 10 years in this area that I can 100 percent be myself with and that is huge! I do have the “3 am” friends here. I can call people and trust them with my child. That is freaking golden too. But to be able to have a friend that you can be crazy with, angry around, bare your soul to and at the same time laugh with is priceless. I told her last night that I am going to give her a friendship bracelet and as goofy as it may seem, I might. A girl can never let her bestie know enough how much she is appreciated.

Secondly, I have lost 20 lbs. Remember all of the blogs about getting spiritually and physically fit? Well, at least I am losing weight. I am trying to workout at least 180 minutes per week. Let’s see how the spiritual will turn out. I hope equally as well. Who am I fooling? I hope better.

Third-I have decided to accept people for what they have to give and who they are and not put so much faith in “man.” My faith is in Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior and I am not a judge or a jury. If people are not as loving or as giving or as available as I would love for them to be, well that is on them. No longer am I going to be disappointed in what people are not. I am going to embrace them and appreciate them for what they are and if they are not a positive in my life, then I will kick them to the curb. Sounds harsh? But it really does make sense…

Lastly, I am going to step out on faith in a big way and try out dating. I want someone in my life. For a decade my child has been my all, especially after splitting from my husband. She is my number one priority, but I am still attractive and somewhat young. I want to have a partner in life and going to playdates is not going to get one. I am not rushing out to clubs and bars, but I have joined a few Meetup groups that would be conducive environments for meeting eligible suitors. 

This is actually the last thing, but in my effort to get right in every way I can, I am going to blog everyday again. I do not care if I tell you about how great my lunch was, or how much I enjoyed a movie. I love to write and it is such a healing and joyful exercise for me. I just hope that some of you have stuck with me and will continue to read and support me. I know that I may have lost some followers and have not gained any in awhile, but that is not the reason I want to write. I want to write because it is what I love and feel and it empowers and strengthens me. 

Please join me on my journey and feel free to comment along the way. Happy 2014. It is going to be a happy, happy New Year indeed!

Leave a Reply

