So, should I get a Crisis Management job like Olivia Pope or is Social Media Manager a bit more, hmmm calm?

I am contemplating trying to get a job working for a Crisis Management firm. Before my current ADDICTION to Scandal, I never really knew those jobs existed. I knew about PR firms and such, but Crisis Management encompasses Law and PR and Social Media. It is exciting and stressful and can many times be very high profile in this area (DC). It is interesting to know that Judy Smith is the person who Scandal was created for. It is of course a loose interpretation of her life. But still!

I am ready to start an exciting career. Something I love. I am so good at social media and I do it for a couple of organizations which is another reason that I do not write in this blog a lot. But it is safe and second nature to me. Crisis Management is harried and crazy and unpredictable. I think that having a kid would make it super duper tricky, but I am really ready to shake things up a bit. Everything is so humdrum as of late and I am looking to change my life.

So, what to do what to do. Realistically speaking, I am probably not qualified to do CM, but a girl can dream:) As silly as it may sound, I am finding strength in the drama of Olivia Pope. I feel like I can do anything and nothing can get in my way of achieving my dreams. The truth is, that if we all thought that way and spoke positive affirmations to ourselves and about ourselves that we would not have to be empowered by a fictional character. 

I know that the Bible should be my guide. I should feel pumped up and protected and strong by its words. But the fact of the matter is that I do not read the Bible like I used to. I ask people’s opinions, I watch tv shows, I blog about things. Why can’t I bring myself to be disciplined enough to sit down and read the wonderful lessons that the Lord laid right out there for us to show us about our lives on earth.

I do not know if it is the type of language used, or if the situations do not seem to apply to what is happening in 2013, or if I am afraid. Afraid to let God reveal to me HIS plan. Or maybe I do not prioritize my relationship with God like I do my tv shows! It is embarrassing to say it! But I am slack in my relationship with God at times. I am a deacon at my church, I do social media for my church and yet I am not reading my Bible and praying as I should. I should be ashamed, but I think that I am in a rut.

A spiritual rut, a career rut, a lack of relationship rut. I am just feel so disconnected to everyone around me. And everything. I am going to try so hard to start doing the one-a-day Bible reading program. I feel that it is hypocritical of me to discuss Christian topics when I am not reading the playbook that God left for us. So, starting tonight I am going to read one verse. Not a whole chapter or book of the Bible, but one verse at a time.

It is so amazing that I always start writing about one thing and I always end up speaking about my faith, or lack thereof. I cannot imagine what it is like for someone who does not believe that there is a Higher Power. I truly feel so sorry for them. Though I am a clearly flawed Christian, a night or day does not go by where I do not think of God or thank HIM for something. Good night friends. Have faith or reach out to God and find some. It will make a difference in everything that you do…

Leave a Reply

