Eight hours at the pool did not disappoint. So why the sad face???

We spent 8 out of the 9 hours that the pool was open, right there in the water enjoying the sun and fun. We splashed, played, swam, had fun with the awesome Eastern European lifeguards that we got to know all summer. It was a great day. I bought a pizza to share with the lifeguards and later a snack and a soda. We were per our tradition, the last to leave the pool. I get so desperate the last few minutes of being there to soak up every bubble and stroke. I jump from pool to pool until the lifeguards say that that is it. Time for the chemicals mean time to say goodbye to another summer.

I am trying so hard to embrace the recent changes of our friends that left on July 31st, my jobs ending, the pool closing, my neighbor leaving on Saturday, etc. I have this child-like quality in that I do not embrace change well. At all. It is sucky living in the DC area because so often people are here for short amounts of time because of military or contract work, or people move and retire to somewhere “slower” and “cheaper”.  The core of the people that I know are families of children that I have taught or cared for and although some of them are my daughter’s best friends and they are solid and good people, they are not my friends. I could call them in a pinch, but I would not do a “mom’s night out” with them.

So, I am faced with getting myself together tonight. Tomorrow is a new day. Back on the health regimen that we have strayed so far from because of guests and travel and constant events. The start of lesson plans with my daughter, the hardcore job search and letting go of what was. I have had a tough year in many respects and as part of the renewal of fall I am going to move forward in this new season a less-burdened woman. I am going to take care of my body and mind, approach each day as an opportunity and not another day to be disappointed. I am going to have faith that this new season will bring good things and among them, better opportunities for us. I believe that through God’s grace that things will improve and that new people will come into our lives that will add to us rather than deplete us or cause us ill will.  

I am going to take time out everyday for 5 minutes to thank God for His many blessings given to us and ask for prayers for whatever I am working with. I really need to have a prayer life. I feel that if I designate time for God that he will open doors for me. I make time to do thing for the church, but I feel phony sometimes because I feel that the God/child of God relationship is lacking and that is my bad. 

Here’s to a new start…

Leave a Reply

